Western Suburbs First Grade 1999

Back Row: Ciriaco Mescia, Leo Dynevor, Chris Marland, Harvey Howard, Scott Coxon, Shane Perry, Trent Brown
Middle Row: John Dorahy, David Buko, Adam Bristow, Darren Fritz, Ken McGuinness, Justin Brooker, Travis Baker, Jeremy Ticehurst
Front Row: Kevin McGuinness, John Skandalis, Brenton Pomeroy, Andrew Leeds (Club Captain), Tom Raudonikis (Head Coach), Steve Georgallis (Team Captain), Jared Mills, Lincoln Raudonikis, Brett Hodgson
Absent: Darryl Fisher, Dane Dorahy, Matt Fuller, Luke Goodwin, Matt Spence

1999, of course, saw the end of the Western Suburbs Magpies as an NRL team. It was a sad end to one of the Foundation clubs. After early overtures to Canterbury-Bankstown, on July 27th it was decided by both boards that Western Suburbs and Balmain (also a foundation club) would form a joint venture club to be known as the Wests Tigers. It was seen as the only viable financial option. The Wests Magpies would still be a significant club, providing the foundation for the new joint venture, from Juniors through to First Division. It finally gave the Juniors some certainty after five years of disruption and retention issues. The season also marked the move to the newly built Campbelltown Stadium, the first match being played there on June 6th.

The season had been disastrous, only 3 wins and the Wooden Spoon for two years running. A final round loss of 60-16 to Auckland was the final straw. To emphasise the difficulties, a number of local Juniors made First Grade debuts – Michael Brabek, Ray Cashmere, Leo Clarke, Barry Davis and Tevita Amone. Tevita Amone underlined his potential when he was selected in the New Zealand Junior Kiwis national side.

The McGuinness brothers, Kevin and Ken were still wowing the crowds with their speed and elusiveness.

Tommy with his adoring fans on the final day at Campbelltown Stadium


Western Suburbs Full Squad 1999

Back Row: Bob Murray, Matt Spence, Don Moseley, Barry Davis, John Skandalis, Ken McGuinness, Scott Coxon, Adam Bristow, Travis baker, Andrew Leeds
Middle Row: Dwayne Brown, Karl Klein, Ciriaco Mescia, David Buko, Lincoln Raudonikis, Dale Bonner, Harvey Howard, Michael Brabek, Steve Nolan, Jim Ramsey, John Dorahy
Front Row: Kevin McGuinness, Matthew Fuller, Jeremy Ticehurst, Jack Stiles, Steve Georgallis, Tom Raudonikis, Dane Dorahy, Justin Brooker, Brett Hodgson, Leo Dynevor
Seated: Christopher Taylor, Dale Johnson, Daniel Bullock, Mark the Magpie, Liam Hammond, Mitchell Taylor


Scroll to Top