Western Suburbs Squad – Club Champions 1991

Back Row: Duncan Warlters, Alan Fallah, Cameron Blair, Tony Rampling, Darren Britt, Dave Gallagher, Steve Jackson, Ronny Gibbs, Bob Lindner, Shane Flanagan, Joe Thomas
Third Row: Noel Goldthorpe, Gary Bukowski, Russell Wyer, Stephen Burns, Mark Williams, Trevor Cogger, Doug Rawlings, Jason Taylor, Shaun O’Bryan, Stan Presdee
Second Row: Peter Mulhollan (Reserve Grade Coach), Brian Satterly (Team Co-ordinator), Jason Kelly, Andrew Farrar, Brett Docherty, Shaun Devine, Reese Webb, Robert Burgess, Bronko Djura, Dennis Regan (Trainer)
Front Row: Tony Cosatto, Graeme Wynn, Paul Langmack, Jason Lidden, Warren Ryan (Coach), Ivan Henjak, David Gillespie, Jamie Ainscough, Wayne Simonds
Ball Boys: Johnathan Di Michiel and Simon Cook

1991 was a remarkable turnaround season. Wests hadn’t made the semi-finals since 1982 but not only did all three grades make the semi-finals, they also were Club Champions. The Seconds and Thirds both made the Final. It had been a long time since Wests had won 14 games in a season. First Grade were forced to a mid-week play-off, which they won, but then had little left in the semi-final loss to Canberra. They were greatly boosted by the imports Paul Langmack, David Gillespie, Andrew Farrar and Joe Thomas, although the first three had serious injuries early in the season. Jim Dymock also made a sensational debut in the first game of the year against Gold Coast, stamping himself as a great player of the future.

It was not surprising that a number of players made representative teams. Andrew Farrar and David Gillespie were selected for City teams, David Gillespie in NSW State of Origin, Bob Lindner and Steve Jackson in the Queensland State of Origin, with Bob Lindner and David Gillespie also in the Australian team that played New Zealand.

To top off the successful year, Warren Ryan was named the Dally M “Coach of the Year”.

Western Suburbs Metropolitan Cup 1991

Back Row: Mark Colquohoun, Gary McDonald, Shane Kelly, Peter Vale, Des Clark, Robert Thompson
Second Row: Duncan Warlters, Rob Hunt, Darryn Stocker, Brendan Dunne, Brian Brown, James Calvin, Pat Dengate, Brent Smith, Shane Lukic
Third Row: Bruce Hardy (Trainer), Scott Cryer, Scott Davey, Darren Michalski, Chris Bristow, Colin Pickersquill, Graham Seery, Jason Buchanan, Darrin Edwards, Reg Masterton (Manager), Sharon Burn (Trainer)
Front Row: Shane Barret, Jason Small, Mick Cronin, Paul Wallace, John Bilbija (Coach), Alan Fallah (Head Coach), Geoff Plowes (Reserve Garde Coach), Ross Crossan, Bryan Ward, Satani Mataeli
Ball Boys: Brendan Hardy, Scott Jacobs, Shannon Bilbija


Scroll to Top