Western Suburbs First Grade 1978
Standing: Graeme O’Grady, Shane Day, John Dorahy, Eric “Buddy” Cain, Bruce Gibbs, John Donnelly, Don Moseley
Seated: Ron Giteau, Peter Rowles, Roy Masters (Coach), Tom Raudonikis (Captain), Trevor Reardon, Wayne Smith, Steve Blyth

Under ‘Coach of the Year’ Roy Masters, Wests went from ninth on the table in 1977 to be Minor Premiers in 1978. It was a disappointing end to the season when they lost the semi-final to Cronulla-Sutherland 14-10, and the Final to Manly-Warringah 14-7.

There was a huge turnaround of players at the start of the season. Eric “Buddy” Cain and Trevor Reardon came from Souths, Bill Cloughessy from Balmain, Bruce Gibbs from Newtown and David Waite from Cronulla. Ken Hey and Pat Hundy left for Parramatta, Gavin Miller to Easts, Russell Mullins to Penrith and Geoff Smith to North Sydney. Steve Broughton was an important debut player. A serious leg injury to Geoff Foster saw the end of his Sydney career. Peter Rowles set a points-scoring record with 229 points, Wayne Smith being the leading try-scorer with nine.

Tom Raudonikis and Les Boyd made the Kangaroo Touring team, while John Dorahy and John Donnelly joined them in the Test Series against New Zealand. Bruce Gibbs and Wayne Smith were also selected for City Firsts.

Western Suburbs Reserve Grade 1978 – Training Night at Lidcombe Oval

Standing: Ray Bernasconi (Secretary). John Crow, Trevor Reardon, Terry Avery, Ron Broderick, Bob Cooper, Bruce Gibbs, Bill Cloughessy, Shane Day, Fred Nelson (Coach)
Seated: Peter Duggan, Buddy Cain, Nathan Cole, Steve Eisenhuth, Graeme O’Grady (Captain), Lindsay “Tonto” Sinclair, Gary Walsh, Alan Neil, David Waite

The performance of the year was from the U23s, which, under the coaching of Warren Ryan (who left at the end of the season to Newtown), stormed home from 10th at the end of the first Round to make the Grand Final, ultimately losing to Penrith 23-5.

   Western Suburbs DRLFC – U23’s Grand Finalists 1978
Back: George Downie, Ray Bernasconi, Bob Stutfield, Marshall Rogers, Brian Cook, Tom Arber, Kenny Bourke, Alan Neil, Warren Ryan (Coach)
Sitting: Paul Houghton, Steve Tamone, Gary Clark, Peter Lema (Captain), David Kennedy, Bill Pearce, Peter Walsh
Front: Brad Nelson, Brett Downie

Scroll to Top