1971 First Grade Squad
Standing, left to right: 
J Elford, K Brown, R Timbs, J Maxwell, A Ford, M Anderson, J Croucher, R May, R Mullins, T Murphy, S Winter, M Alchin, J Baker, R Watson (Coach)
Sitting, left to right: G Biggam, J Neilsen, J Tolley, J Stewart, T Raudonikis, D Rogers

1971 was a very poor season with only four wins and the Wooden Spoon again. It was a remarkable result considering they won their first match 55-12 against Canterbury-Bankstown and then lost 27-6 to the same team in the second round. The loss of John Armstrong to Canterbury had been a big pre-season blow but gains of Russell Johnstone (ex-Penrith) and Brian Winney (ex-Parramatta) and debuts by Russell Mullins, Neville Sinclair and Jim Croucher, among others, seemed to indicate a good season was beckoning, but it was not to be.

The two bright spots were the selection of Tom Raudonikis in the Australian team to tour New Zealand and the appointment of John Hayes as Reserve Grade coach, taking them to the semi-finals. Barry Bryant, Don Rogers and Ken Stonestreet played all 22 matches, Stonestreet playing 100 games straight, without injury. Tony Ford topped the points scoring with 90, while Don Rogers scored 11 tries. Barry Bryant was voted the club’s ‘Best and Fairest’.


Western Suburbs President Cup Team – Semi-Finalist 1971
Back Row:
D Clare (Hon. Secretary), W Ginn (Manager), R Blighton (Selector), G Dearne, V Tagg, W Martin (Coach), R Byrnes, P McMahon, J Innes (Selector), J Walsh (Trainer), H Burns (President), K Bowen (Rep. Team Secretary)
Standing: T Douglas, J Churchyard, D Flood, W Ginn (Jnr.), R Smith (Captain), L Burtonwood, W Bosworth, G Sly, R Pigeon, Paul Young
Sitting: T Scarr, P Hurney, K Willis, P Bowen (Ball Boy), Inness (Sand Boy), N Stubbs, J McGuire, A Barnard

A significant honour was bestowed on Roy Liston, ex-player and bell-ringer extraordinaire, who was awarded Life Membership of the NSWRFL in recognition of 57 years’ service to Rugby League, with 46 years’ continuous service to Western Suburbs District Rugby League Football Club, of which he became a Life member in 1935. Jack Piper was also awarded Wests’ Life Membership.

Roy Liston was awarded Life Membership of the NSWRFL

Scroll to Top